top of page
  • Writer's pictureDoug

We're still here!!!

Well well... It's been a little while since I have updated the site. I do apologize to our Monday Knights. We have indeed continued to play on Monday nights, I just haven’t been updating the website. My bad. We did play a few sessions of Shadowrun for a simple run I put together to introduce 5th edition to the players. There were mixed reviews, as some felt overwhelmed with all of the new rules and options and some felt that things still needed to be worked out.





This sparked a good conversation on where our group was headed in the near future. Many in the group were finding the duration of the campaign to be a little ponderous as we were not used to spending a year and a half on a single adventure with the same characters. Jim has continued to do a marvelous job DMing and it is not for lack of entertainment on his behalf that people were looking to change things up a bit. We were used to using many different characters on many different adventures throughout the year on much smaller adventures.


I think that the folks at Critical Role can run a 5 year campaign with the same characters likely because there is variety in their adventures and they are not on one single mission for the duration. I personally think some down time and variety keeps the spark of creativity and character development brewing in the players. Save a princess here…slay a dragon there…dig up a little ancient lich treasure over here…meet new NPCs and locales…etc.


So what was decided was that we would just switch things up now and again with some one-off’s for variety with the knowledge that we would always come back to the on-going campaign. Plus, we would switch between the Curse of Strahd and the Tyranny of Dragons campaigns for variety. I think that accomplishes the variety that people are looking for. We definitely want to finish Strahd!!!! Jim has done such an amazing job of bringing that world to life – we all love it so much! Thanks Jim.


Now, as far as the site goes…I have fallen woefully behind in updating Flynn’s journal to the point where I feel weary just thinking about backtracking and updating all that has happened since his last update. So I don’t think I will. In my heart, I'm still not sure anyone was really using this site much anyway, so that is a bit of a de-motivier. And as far as keeping it updated going forward, I will likely just do point form notes on what happened so that people can still use the journal as a helpful tool. My creative attention is being divided too much these days and keeping up the prose of our favorite rascally gnome is going to have to suffer.


I have thrown myself into my art again, after having been in a serious depressive slump for the last few years. I feel re-energized and want to explore several projects that will challenge my skills and teach me more. I’ve been hitting Photoshop pretty hard and drawing on my Wacom tablet every day. It pains me to think of how much I could have improved already had I spent the last few years honing these skills instead of fearing to fail with them. I will be posting the projects  on here as I also use this space as a sort of personal blog. Keep checking back.



“Having anxiety and depression is like being scared and tired at the same time. It's the fear of failure, but no urge to be productive. It's wanting friends, but hate socializing. It's wanting to be alone, but not wanting to be lonely. It's feeling everything at once then feeling paralyzingly numb.” - Unknown



15 views0 comments
bottom of page